Review of The Good Girl by Mary Kubica

18812405

2 star

The Good Girl is about the kidnapping of Mia Dennett after her boyfriend backs out of yet another date, due to work.  The kidnapping takes an unexpected and unplanned turn that results in a catastrophic turn of events.  Mia is raised in an affluent family, known and liked by her community.  But, families aren’t always what they seem while in the public eye and the kidnapping brings to light the true nature of the Dennett family.  Some of the Dennets will change as they deal with Mia’s absence and others have secret’s revealed about their true nature.  Money isn’t all that a family needs and the Dennetts will learn what money can’t buy.

The book’s chapters switch back and forth between before the kidnapping and after, as well as between perspectives of different characters.  I think this was an interesting approach for Mary Kubica, but at times I found it to be a little confusing.

I was excited to read The Good Girl, but unfortunately it fell a little flat for me.  I found the story, especially regarding Mia and her kidnapper to be far fetched and unrealistic.  What happens between Mia and her father, Judge Dennett, I figured out at the beginning of the book.  However, I loved part of the ending!  I was shocked to find out Mia’s role and I never saw it coming!  Mary Kubica did a great job with the turn of events regarding Mia.  I just wish there were more events or twists and turns within the book that I didn’t see coming.

The ending shocked me so much that I am increasing my rating from a 2 star to a 2.5 star. Unfortunately, the rest of the book just didn’t live up to my expectations.  To me, a book like this should have you on the edge of your seat, unable to stop turning the pages, but this one just wasn’t there.

Leave a Reply

