Review of The Heir by Kiera Cass

The Heir (The Selection, #4)The Heir by Kiera Cass

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The month of June has been very busy for me. So, I’ve found myself gravitating towards light, fun, quick reads these past few weeks. The Heir was a great fit. Although, Eadlyn can be selfish and bratty at times, throughtout the book she goes on a path of self discovery. Yes, she is a young lady who seems to know what she wants and isn’t afraid to share her strong opinions with anyone. I really liked that about Eadlyn, but she also seems to be learning that what she thinks she wants and what she may need, might not be the same thing. I really enjoyed the development of Edalyn throughtout this book.

I also really enjoyed the family dynamic between America (mom), Maxon (dad), Eadlyn and the rest of her siblings. The love this family has for eachother and the ways they try their best to look out for eachother’s best interests is admirable.

I enjoyed how Kiera Cass dealt with the removal of the caste system. While the removing of the caste system was a great idea, it wasn’t without any problems. You can change the system, but until the mindsets of the people change with it, problems can arise. Cass dealt with this in a believable way throughout the book and I really liked this twist in the story.

I wasn’t planning on reading The Crown (book 5 and the final book of The Selection series) next, but due to how this book ends with quite a cliffhanger, I think I might just jump into The Crown to see how this series ends. I feel like I need to know sooner, rather then later. 🙂

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

