Review of The Crown by Kiera Cass

The Crown (The Selection, #5)The Crown by Kiera Cass

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

After reading The Heir and how it left off, I had to jump right into The Crown to see how the series ends. Unfortunately, this was my least favorite book in the series. It felt a little bit like a book that was written to stretch the story into a fifth book. The Crown was a relatively short book (279 pages) and I felt like this book could have been condensed and added onto The Heir instead.

Although I did like the book, I didn’t love it. I found who Eadlyn ultimstely chooses to be extremely predictable. However, I did enjoy how Eadlyn learns to balance the desires of her heart with what’s best for her country. I also found Eadlyn to be a little less bratty in this book.

Overall, I enjoyed the light, fun nature of this series. This last book just seemed unnessary and it would have been better to add it onto The Heir. Or, I wish Cass took the story a little further into the future of Eadlyn and Illea. This series was full of light, fun, quick reads that are perfect for summer. Although, I wish The Crown in itself was written better, I still enjoyed this series overall. 🙂

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

