Top 5 Wednesday-Favorite Books Outside Your Comfort Zone

I’ve seen a lot of Top 5 and Top 10 days around BookTube and they seem like a lot of fun to do.  Since it’s the beginning of a new month, I decided to join the Goodreads group “Top 5 Wednesday” and give it a try!  🙂 The first list of top 5s for July is “FavoriteBooks Outside
Your Comfort Zone.”   I immediately thought of two books, Wonder by RJ Palacio and The Girl With All the Gifts by M.R. Carey, but then I found myself having to scroll through my Goodreads list of read books to come up with three more books.  What I learned is that I need to read more books outside of my comfort zone!  A few years back, I dipped my toes into the world of fantasy books and I found that I loved them!  However, I didn’t include fantasy in this list because since then I have read and continue to read a lot of fantasy books.  But, this taught me the gift in trying new genres, especially ones you think might not be for you.  You might be surprised!  🙂  So, I realize that since trying the fantasy genre, I haven’t read outside of my comfort zone enough.  If you have any recommendations of books that are your favorites, but might be out of my comfort zone, please comment below.

So, here’s the list that I came up with…

Favorite Books Outside Your Comfort Zone

  1.  Wonder by RJ Palacio  Wonder is a middle grade book about a boy who has a facial deformity and goes to public school for the first time in middle school.  It is heartbreaking, but also a very heartwarming and inspiring story.  I believe everyone should read this book, especially if you are a parent or a child.  I believe it will change you for the better.  As an adult, I really don’t read very many middle grade books, but this is one is so very much worth reading.
  2.  The Girl With All the Gifts by M.R. Carey was recommended to me by my husband’s friend.  It looked interesting so I added it to my Goodreads TBR list, but that’s where it stayed.  It’s a horror/science fiction novel and I really don’t read a lot of horror.  I just don’t like being scared, but for a really good book, I’ll try it every once in awhile.  Just not before bed!  🙂  Well, this book was chosen for me through a Recommendation Swap I participated in with the Sweeter Reads book club I’m a member of on Goodreads.  The purpose of the swap is to step out of your comfort zone and try something you might not have otherwise tried.  This was a perfect recommendation!  It was gruesome at times, but it was also a very well written story with a great ending.
  3.  Where Are The Children? by Mary Higgins Clark is a mystery and was a book of the month for a bookclub I used to be a part of.  I read it awhile ago, so I don’t remember a whole lot about the book.  What I do remember though, is that I truly could not put this book down!  It had me on the edge of my seat the entire time.
  4.  The First Days by Rhiannon Frater is a horror/zombie/science fiction book.  It was also a Sweeter Reads book of the Month one October.  It seemed fitting for October and the Halloween season so I picked it up.  Of course, with zombies and horror, it was gruesome at times.  But, it was also about survival, frienship and love.  It is from the point of view of the people trying to survive, not the zombies and I enjoyed that point of view.
  5.  Archie, Vol. 1:The New Riverdale by Mark Waid and Fiona Staples, Illustrated by Annie Wu and Veronica Fish is a graphic novel relaunch of the Archie comics.  I read Archie comics as a child, but I’ve never really been into graphic novels beyond that.  When I saw this graphic novel, I had to read it, if for nothing more then nostaglic reasons.  I really enjoyed it and I’m looking forward to Vol. 2 due out in December of 2016.  I have even picked up a few other graphic novels since then.  I’ve found them to be a lot of fun, especially in the summer when I’ve found myself gravitating towards lighter reads.

So, that’s my “Top 5 Wednesday-Favorite Books Outside Your Comfort Zone.”  Clearly, I need to work on reading more books outside my comfort zone.  If you have any recommendations for me, please comment and let me know.  I look forward to sharing more “Top 5 Wednesdays” with you. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

