Mid Year Book Freakout 2016 Tag

This tag was created by Ely @Ely Jayne and Chami @Read Like Wildfire and it looked like a great way to look back on the first half of the year of reading, so I thought I’d give it a try.

1. Best book you’ve read so far in 2016

The Crown’s Game: Goodreads/Amazon

The Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye is fantastic read and I loved it!  I can’t wait for the release of The Crown’s Heir in 2017, the second and final book in The Crown’s Game duology.

2. Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2016

Crown of Midnight: Goodreads/Amazon

I loved Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas!  I am looking forward to continuing The Throne of Glass series, but I’m hesitent because I’ve heard often that Crown of Midnight is the best book in the series.  I will definitely be continuing on with this series sometime soon though and we’ll see how I feel about this series as it progresses.

3. New release you haven’t read yet, but want to

A Court of Mist and Fury: Goodreads/Amazon

 A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas has had such amazing reviews and I can’t wait to read it, but it’s a huge book and I just haven’t been able to pick it up off of my shelf and read it yet.  I will remedy that situation soon and finally read this book that almost everyone has raved about.  🙂

4. Most anticipated release for the second half of the year

Heartless: Goodreads/Amazon

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child: Goodreads/Amazon

Empire of Storms: Goodreads/Amazon

I’m behind on a lot of books that I would like to read from the first half of this year, as well as some series I want to complete and books from past years, so I haven’t thought much about upcoming new releases yet.  I’m sure as a watch BookTube and read book blogs, I will find many new releases from the second half of 2016 that I would like to read.

I read another Queen of Hearts retelling this year that I didn’t care for.  I’m hoping Marissa Meyer’s retelling will be a lot better and I will enjoy this one.

I also want to say that I’m anticipating  and , but I am behind on both of these series.  Truth be told, I’m still anticipating their releases though and looking forward to catching up on both of these series.

5. Biggest Disappointment

Queen of Hearts: Goodreads/Amazon

I really had high hopes for Queen of Hearts by Colleen Oakes to be a fun, quick little read.  While it was a quick little read, I found it wasn’t for me.  Unfortunately, the book had poor development and it really didn’t go much of anywhere.

6. Biggest Surprise

The Girl With All the Gifts: Goodreads/Amazon

The Girl With All the Gifts by M.R. Carey was a book that was very much out of my comfort zone.  It’s a horror/science fiction book that was recommended to me during a Recommendation Swap.  I was so glad that it was recommended to me and I really enjoyed the stoty that M.R. Carey created.  I am looking forward to reading his newest book Fellside after being surprised by how much I liked reading this book.

7. Favorite new author (Debut or new to you)

The Crown’s Game: Goodreads/Amazon

The Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye was such a beautifully written book that I fell in love with so she’s also my favorite new author this year so far.  Her ability to tell a story and keep you turning the pages is amazing.

8. Newsest Fictional Crush

I’m not really a reader who has fictional crushes so I don’t have an answer for this one.

9. Newest Favorite Character

Between Shades of Gray: Goodreads/Amazon

Lina from Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys is my favorite character so far this year.  Her strength throughout all of the hardships of being sent to a work camp in Siberia during the early 1940s is admirable.  She’s able to use her love of art to record what’s happening and try to reach her father, whose been seperated from the rest of the family, and let him know what’s been happening.  Lina suffers hardships and loss, but still finds a way to love and to find love/family in unconventional ways and under circumstances that some would want to just give up in.  This was my first book by Ruta Sepetys, but it definately won’t be my last. I’m looking forward to the movie based on this book, Ashes in the Snow, coming out later this year.

10. Book that made you cry

I didn’t read any books so far this year that made me cry.  Although, a lot of books make me feel sad for the characters,  I don’t tend to cry while reading a book.

11. Book that made you happy

My Grandmother Asked Me to Tell You She’s Sorry: Goodreads/Amazon

There’s not really a book that jumps out at me so far this year that made me happy, but Fredrik Backman’s My Grandmother Asked Me to Tell You She’s Sorry has many funny characters and moments, including 7 year old Elsa and her grandmother.  Elsa and her grandmother are different and proud of it. This aspect made me happy.  🙂

12. Most beautiful book you’ve bought so far this year

Passenger: Goodreads/Amazon

There are so many beautiful book covers, but I think Passenger by Alexandra Bracken is one of the prettiest bookcovers on the books I’ve purchased so far this year.

13. What books to you need to read by the end of the year?

I don’t pressure myself with books that I must read by a certain time.  I can be a mood reader and I like to balance books from participating in a book club with books that I’m just in the mood to read at the moment.

Here are some of the books I would like to get to before the end of the year, but it’s never a requirement for me:

   

 

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix: Goodreads/Amazon

Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince: Goodreads/Amazon

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Goodreads/Amazon

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child: Goodreads/Amazon

Heir of Fire: Goodreads/Amazon

Queen of Shadows: Goodreads/Amazon

Empire of Storms: Goodreads/Amazon

A Court of Mist and Fury: Goodreads/Amazon

There are so many other books that I would like to read this year as well.  Mt. TBR just keeps growing and growing and growing…but these are the book series that I hope to complete in the second half of the year.

14. Favorite book community member (blogger, booktuber and bookstagramer)

I can’t name just one!  So here’s a few of my favorite booktubers:

E.V. and Ronnie Fairfall @Booktube Couple

Kristin @Super Space Chick

Beekah @Beekah Awesome Booknut

Katie @Life Between Words

I’m just starting my adventure into the book blogging world.  I’m sure I will soon have favorite book bloggers too, but for now I’m more familiar with Booktubers.  I look forward to meeting more book bloggers soon and sharing our blogs!  🙂

Leave a Reply

