Musing Mondays (Sept. 12)

download (1)

Musing Mondays is hosted by Jen at her blog, Books and a Beat.

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme that asks you to choose one of the following prompts to answer:

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: What obscure book do you think should be turned into a movie?

I have been wanting to read more classics and I was planning to start reading some in 2017.  However, I heard from Kate Howe’s BookTube channel that she is co-hosting #victober with a group of other ladies from BookTube.  They are taking the month of October to read some Victorian Literature.  So, I thought this would be a fun time to dip my toes into some classics and give it a try!  🙂  Kate graciously gave me some beginners classics recommendations and some of them just happen to fall into Victorian Literature.  I have read a few classics and I’ve read (and loved) some children’s classics such as Anne of Green Gables and The Secret Garden.  So, in order to participate in Victober, I decided to purchase a few classics this week. 

  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…

Goodreads

Goodreads

Goodreads

The Tenant of Wildfell Hall by Anne Bronte was recommended in another Victober’s co-host video, Ange from Beyond the Page .  It was recommended for beginner’s so I thought I would try it.

One of the five challenges, if you choose to follow them, is to read a piece of Victorian Literature that is not a novel (a play, poetry, essays, etc).  This one wasn’t recommended to me, but while I was browsing the classics, I came across this book of poetry.  I read the first few poems and really enjoyed them, so the book came home with me.  🙂

Co-hosts of Victober

Kate Howe-Kate Howe

Yamini-The Skeptical Reader

Ange-Beyond the Pages

Katie-Books and Things

Alysia-exlibris

I’m excited to try some more classics next month and expand my reading!   Do you enjoy reading classics?  Do you have any recommendations for a beginner like me who would like to add more classics to my reading?

Happy Monday!  Hope you have a great week!  Happy Reading! 🙂

10 thoughts on “Musing Mondays (Sept. 12)

      1. The Stoker & Holmes trilogy (starring Bram’s sister and Sherlock’s niece) is really good. Gail Carriger’s stuff is pretty good, it’s Steampunk paranormal romance. And then Shelley Adina’s Magnificent Devices series is neat too.

        Like

  1. Pingback: Musing Mondays (Sept. 19) – In My Reading Nook

  2. Pingback: Musing Mondays (Sept. 26) – In My Reading Nook

Leave a Reply

