Victober TBR

Victober is being hosted by a group of Booktubers and the goal is to read Victorian Literature throughout the month of October.  I have been wanting to read more classics, so I thought joining into Victober was the perfect opportunity to read some classic books.

Here are the challenges and my TBR for Victober:

Read a Victotian Novel in a Week

Goodreads

This is the shortest book on my TBR list, so I thought it would be the best one to try to read in one week.

Read a Victorian Gothic Novel

Goodreads

I have started reading Jane Eyre and I’m loving it already!

Read a Victorian Novel by a Female Author

Goodreads

Read Victorian Fiction That’s Not a Novel

Goodreads

AND/OR

Goodreads

Read a Victorian Novel Where the Plot is Afoot (there is a scheme)

I’m not sure yet what to read for this challenge.  If you have any suggestions for this challenge, please let me know.  I’m just starting to read classics, other then reading childhood classics as a child and required school reading (which was awhile ago 🙂 ) so please keep recommendations to classics that would be good for beginners.  Thanks.

Co-hosts of Victober

Kate Howe-Kate Howe

Yamini-The Skeptical Reader

Ange-Beyond the Pages

Katie-Books and Things

Alysia-exlibris

I’m excited to try reading some classics throughout the month of October!  Do you enjoy classics?  If so, what are some of your favorites?

 

4 thoughts on “Victober TBR

  1. As someone who read a lot of Victorian literature while studying in University these books aren’t bad choices. I didn’t enjoy Jane Eyre as much as I thought I would but it all depends on your taste I guess. I’m a Charles Dickens fan myself but the Bronte Sisters have make some memorable works.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dickens is definitely on my list of classic authors I would like to read. Any advice on where to start?

      Also, if you have any other classic recommendations, I’d love to hear them. I really don’t want to pick something up that will be too overwhelming to start with, so I’m trying to choose wisely where to start.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I would start with one of his famous works first as that’s where I started and where I got used to his writing. As for other works… Wuthering Heights and Little Women. It took me two tries to get into Wuthering Heights though… so maybe just Little Women. I could actually see someone modernizing Little Women as it is an ageless story of sisterhood, fitting in, and knowing yourself. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thanks for the advice. 🙂 I read Little Women many years ago, but I do want to re-read it. I’ve heard mixed feeling about Wuthering Heights. I do want to read it, but I probably will read a few others first.

        Like

Leave a Reply

