Spookathon TBR

img_5280

Spookathon is a readathon running from October 17th, 2016-October 23rd, 2016.  It is a thriller/horror/mystery based readathon and is basically to read anything that you find to be a page turning read.

Hosts of Spookathon:

Kayla-Books and Lala

Paige-Paige’s Pages

Shannon-Bookerly

Truthfully, my TBR is probably an overly ambitious list for a week of reading, but I want to read all of them.  If I was to complete all of these books and all 5 of the challenges during Spookathon, I’d have to average reading 250 pages per day.  That’s a lot for me!  But, I read more then I ever thought I could in a week during Booktubeathon this past summer.  I’m going to try my best and see what happens!  If I complete 2 or 3 of these books during Spookathon, I’ll be happy!  🙂

Spookathon Challenges and TBR

-Read a thriller

Goodreads

I’m really in the mood to read another Gillian Flynn thriller novel, but it only fits into this one challenge.  I’ve only read Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn so far.  I may read it after Spookathon and read a thriller that can cover more then one challenge during Spookathon.  I’m not sure yet.  Unless…”sharp” can be used for challenge #3 and could be considered a spooky word in a title?  I think I might be stretching that one though.

OR

Goodreads

-read a book with Red on the cover

I have multiple books that I hope to read during Spookathon with red on the cover.

Goodreads

I was supposed to read Horns by Joe Hill over the summer for a Recommendation Swap through my book club.  I couldn’t get myself in the mood to pick this book up during the summer.  October seems like a much better time of year to read this book.  So, I’ll be reading it during Spookathon.  I’ve read a few of Joe Hill’s other books and enjoyed them. I’m hoping to enjoy reading this book as well.

Goodreads

Goodreads

Replica by Lauren Oliver may seem like an odd choice for the Spookathon readathon, but I will explain more under the last two challenges.

-read a book with a spooky word in the title

Goodreads

“Night” is a spooky word in the title for this challenge.

OR

Goodreads

Can “sharp” be considered a spooky word in the title?  I’m not sure.  I might be stretching this one…

-read a 2016 release

Goodreads

I don’t own a 2016 release that is a thriller, horror or mystery book.  I am trying not to buy books at the moment and read some of the many books on my shelves that I haven’t read yet.  However, I was in Target last week and they had the last copy of a signed first edition of Replica by Lauren Oliver.  I couldn’t resist purchasing this book!

I saw on Twitter that someone asked one of the Spookathon hosts about reading Replica for Spookathon.  They said that it could be used for the 2016 release challenge as well as the next challenge, the creature challenge.  Hmmm…so I decided to include Replica in my TBR too.

-read a book with a paranormal character/creature

Goodreads

As I mentioned in the challenge above, through Twitter I found out that Replica could be used for this challenge because it includes clones, which could be considered reading a book with creautures.

OR

Goodreads

I think that Horns could count for this challenge as well, since it includes the Devil.

Will you be participating in Spookathon?  What will you be reading?

or

Are you a seasonal reader?  What October book(s) are you most looking forward to reading?

2 thoughts on “Spookathon TBR

  1. Pingback: Musing Mondays (Oct. 17) – In My Reading Nook

Leave a Reply

