Musing Mondays (Nov. 14)

I’m sorry that I have been away from blogging for the past few weeks.  My family and I have been dealing with a family tragedy.  At the end of October, my sister was brutally assaulted.  After a week on life support, she passed away from sustained injuries.  She has two children, 16 and 11, who have lived with me most of their lives due to some other personal struggles my sister dealt with.  The kids are doing okay now, but I needed to take some time away to focus on them and for our family to grieve.

download (1)

Musing Mondays is hosted by Jen at her blog, Books and a Beat.

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme that asks you to choose one of the following prompts to answer:

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION:  How has your reading changed in the last 10 years?

I’m currently reading…

Goodreads

The last “real” conversation I had with my sister (her struggles crept back into her life over the last few months of her life), she recommended to me that I read A Man Called Ove.  I already owned the book and planned to get around to reading it at some point.  After her passing, I decided to pick up the book as a way to honor her memory.  It’s also a November book of the month for my bookclub, so it  just seemed like the right time to pick up this book and try to get back to some reading.  It’s been tough, at times, because one of the themes of the book is death, but it’s made me smile at times too.  Fredrik Backman does a great job at balancing sadness and joy.

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION:  How has your reading changed in the last 10 years?

My reading has changed tremendously in the last 10 years.  10 years ago, I was a very casual reader and only finished reading a few books a year.  I was raising my nephew (who I’m still raising) and he was 6 at the time.  He was diagnosed with ADHD and had some behavioral issues at that time.  So, my focus was on helping him and much of my reading was nonfiction books that would help me to better help him.  Now that he is 16 and doing amazingly well, no different then any other 16 year old, I read a lot more for pure enjoyment.

When I joined Goodreads in September of 2012 and then Sweeter Reads (a Goodreads bookclub) my reading really took off!  I started joining in on reading and discussing numerous books of the month.  Talking with other booklovers about the books we were reading (as well as other stuff) motivated me to read more and more.  Also, setting reading goals on Goodreads and watching what I read throughout the year has helped me to increase my reading over the past 4 years especially.  Challenges and readathons have also been tools that, at times, have helped me to increase my reading.  It can be fun and a motivator to try to complete reading challenges or see how many books I can read in a week.  However, I don’t want my speed of reading to always be the main focus.  Enjoying what I read is important too.  It’s all about balance and remembering that challenges and readathons are for when I’m in the mood for them and my schedule cooperates.  If I don’t finish a challenge or read a lot during a planned readathon, that’s okay.

 I think that as I reflect on how my reading has changed in the last 10 years, communicating with the book community has had the biggest and most positive impact on my reading.  Therefore, I recently started book blogging.  It seemed like another great place to talk about books with fellow book lovers.  I have already begun to meet some wonderful book bloggers, find even more great books to read and made some new friends to chat about books (and other stuff) with.  I look forward to seeing where this book blog goes, continuing to build book friendships with my fellow book lovers and watching my love of reading continue to grow!

Feel free to post your Musing Monday link.  I’d love to read what you’re musing about this Monday.  I’d especially like to know, how has your reading changed in the last 10 years?

8 thoughts on “Musing Mondays (Nov. 14)

    1. Thank you. It’s been a tough few weeks. Moving on still feels a little wierd, but moving on is a must.

      It sounds like we have some reading similarities over the past 10 years, more time and more exposure to more books. There are so many books that sound so good that I’ve learned about from bloggers, Goodreads, etc.

      Like

  1. Family comes first of course, I’m sorry to hear about what yours is going through and I’m sending good thoughts your way. Thank you for sharing your story with us.

    I too have come to embrace the fact that it’s okay to “fail” at a challenge or read-a-thon. Enjoyment of books is much more important than those two things to me. Here’s my musing on the subject: http://twobirds1blog.blogspot.ca/2016/11/musing-mondays-i-didnt-choose-reading.html

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your thoughts.

      I can see how your degree can get in the way of reading for pure enjoyment at times. However, congrats on getting your degree! The good far outways the bad. Once in a while, I enjoy a light book that if I really analyzed it, it would no longer be the light, pure enjoyment read I was in the mood for. I can see how in those times analyzing could be a bad thing, but overall I bet your degree serves you well in your reading journey.

      I have also greatly expanded the genres that I read over the past 10 years. The variety of genres helps to read more and not end up in a dreaded reading slump.

      Graphic novels are also something I dipped my toes into this year. As a kid I read Archie as well, but until this year I hadn’t picked up a graphic novel since I was a child. Have you read the remake of the Archie comics? I read the first one this year and enjoyed it. As an Archie fan, you might enjoy it too. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. My thoughts are with you and your family during this difficult time. My heart aches for you and those children. I know I’ve said this before, but your strength and dedication to those kids is inspiring. Stay strong my friend. Feel free to reach out if you ever need to talk!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

