Review:November 9 by Colleen Hoover

November 9November 9 by Colleen Hoover
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I listened to the audiobook of November 9 by Colleen Hoover and my rating is more accurately at about a 3.5 for this book. For most of the book, I really enjoyed this story. I loved Ben and how much love he had for Fallon, despite her physical scars. I loved how he stood up for her and motivated her to continue to chase her dreams, the complete opposite of her father. Throughout most of the book, I was so engrossed in Ben and Fallon’s relationship and what happens each November 9.

Until…the last part of the book. I felt like everything resolved so quickly and buttoned up to neatly. What is revealed in the book about Ben’s story prior to meeting Fallon along with Fallon’s character throughout the book, made it unrealistic for her to make the choices she makes and to make them so quickly. I struggled to agree with the choices that Ben’s mom, Ben and Fallon make in this book. I can’t go into detail about these choices as they would be major spoilers for the book.

Colleen Hoover writes beautiful love stories with very flawed characters and she kept to that in November 9. Hoover wrote a beautiful, heart wrenching story, but I just couldn’t see eye to eye with the choices of the main characters of November 9. I will continue to read Colleen Hoover’s work as I enjoy her ability to take flawed characters and weave a story of beauty around them. November 9 just wasn’t my favorite work of Hoover’s. I look forward to my next Colleen Hoover read and the hopes of being able to allign myself better with her characters.

3 thoughts on “Review:November 9 by Colleen Hoover

    1. Yes, I was blown away by It Ends with Us too. Slammed was the first CoHo book that I read and I really enjoyed that one too. It wasn’t as good as It Ends with Us, but it was good as well. I know I’m in the minority on this one, but I just didn’t care for the end very much. It just wasn’t for me.

      Like

Leave a Reply

