Musing Mondays (Dec. 5)

download (1)

Musing Mondays is hosted by Jen at her blog, Books and a Beat.

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme that asks you to choose one of the following prompts to answer:

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: Do you visit your local library regularly? If so, what’s your earliest memory of visiting a library?

I’m currently reading…

Goodreads

This is my first time reading anything by Rosamunde Pilcher and I’m loving it!  I’m about 100 pages in and the book is so beautifully written.  It is definitely more of a character driven story then a plot driven story, but the characters and scenes are written so beautifully that I’m just so drawn into this story.  If this book continues to be as great as the first 100 pages have been, I’ll definitely be reading more of Rosamunde Pilcher’s work.

Up next I think I’ll read…

Goodreads

I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…

Goodreads

The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss is set to becaome a movie and a T.V. series.  Lin Manuel Miranda has signed on to produce both adaptations.  I haven’t read The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss yet, but it’s sitting on my TBR shelf waiting to be read.  I’ve heard so many great things about this trilogy. From what I know about the trilogy, I think it could make a great movie and T.V. series.  Of course, I will read the trilogy before watching any adaptations of it since the book is almost always better. 😉  However, I’m intrigued about these potential adaptations and Lin Manuel Miranda producing these adaptations.

Here’s an article with more details about The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss being adapted into a movie and a T.V. series: http://www.latimes.com/entertainment/la-et-entertainment-news-updates-lin-manuel-miranda-joins-the-1480459239-htmlstory.html

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: Do you visit your local library regularly? If so, what’s your earliest memory of visiting a library?

This was quite a timely random question this week for me!  I sort of go in and out of visiting my local library.  I have so many books sitting on my TBR shelf right now (and so does my daughter) that it’s been awhile since we visited our local library.  Until…this past weekend!  I had checked out a library copy of a book that my daughter’s class was reading because she kept forgetting to bring her school copy home.  That book was due back at the library on Saturday so my daughter and I spent some time there on Saturday.  Of course, both of us checked out some books!  I really do enjoy my local library and there are times that my family and I use it on a weekly basis, but it really depends on what else is going on. I also use the Overdrive system through my library for e-books and audiobooks pretty regularly, but that isn’t the same as just browsing the library shelves.

I remember visiting my local library as a very young child.  The importance of reading was always stressed in my home as a child.  I remember when I was very young (maybe preschool/kindergarten or so) often choosing the picture books with the shiny pages.  🙂  My local library was also within walking distance from my elemantary school.  I remember in 5th and 6th grade after school walking to the library with classmates to do our homework, chat and checking new books out from the library.  The library was also a requirement for school reports when I was in school since there wasn’t the Internet  to research from the comfort of home.  Yup! It was the good old Dewey Decimal System and hoping to be the first one at the library to check out the books on the topic I wanted to research.  Otherwsise, the shelf would be clear of the books to get the needed information from and a second topic would have to be chosen.

Here’s what my daughter and I checked out of the library on Saturday:

       

The Last One by Alexandra Oliva: Goodreads

I Will Send Rain by Rae Meadows: Goodreads

Furthermore by Tahereh Mafi: Goodreads

Lizzie Bright and the Buckminster Boy by Gary D. Schmidt: Goodreads

Relish by Lucy Knisley: Goodreads

This One Summer by Jillian Tamaki and Mariko Tamaki: Goodreads

Audiobook: The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan: Goodreads

Have you read any Rosamunde Pilcher books?  Thoughts? (No spoilers please)

Do you use your local library?  Regularly?  Sometimes?

Feel free to post your Musing Monday link.  I’d love to read what you’re musing about this Monday

.

5 thoughts on “Musing Mondays (Dec. 5)

  1. I love those childhood memories of the library, and for many years, finding the library in whatever town I moved to was my first task. (After grocery stores, of course). I don’t use the library much anymore, except to go to donate books. I must change that!

    I love Rosamunde Pilcher, and enjoyed Winter Solstice. In fact, I have one of her older books, The Empty House, still unread on my Kindle. Must read soon!

    I also loved A Fatal Grace, and must pick up the next one in the series. Enjoy your week!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I guess I’m not alone in not using the local library so much. I do need to use my local library more as well.

      I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed Winter Solstice and A Fatal Grace. I’m looking forward to reading both of them this month. It sounds like you’ve found Rosamunde Pilcher’s other books to be good too. I’m so happy to hear that and it further inspires me to pick up more of her books.

      Hope you are having a great week as well! 🙂

      Like

  2. I grew up with my Mother who took my brothers and I to the library all the time, which is funny because she isn’t a huge reader. I noticed that when I was in high school and college, I rarely visited the library, but now that I am a parent myself, I’ve found that the library is back on my weekly routine 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

