Bookish Goals for 2017

240_f_97039044_8wvfzh0wpgozxofbgwfcgpruas1pb3pa

  1. Most of all, I would like to enjoy reading.  In 2016, I had quite a few big books that I wanted to read but I didn’t read many of them.  As I look back and reflect, I think that is because I put too big of an emphasis on the number of books I read and meeting my Goodreads Reading Goal.  I tend to be a slower reader so big books can take over a week for me to read. I will still be setting a Goodreads Reading Goal for 2017 and I will be increasing it just a little bit from 2016.  However, if I don’t meet the goal or find later in the year that I have to lower my goal, I’m okay with that.  Enjoying the books that I read will be my most important goal of 2017. 🙂
  2. I would like to read at least 3 re-reads.  With such a huge and ever increasing Mt.TBR, I do not often re-read books.  This year I’ve really thought about the benefits of re-reading so in 2017 I plan to try some more re-reads.
  3.  I would like to read at least classics/modern classics.  In 2016, I started to read a few classics and modern classics and I would like to continue this in 2017.
  4.  I would like to read at least Tomes (books with 500 or more pages).  As I mentioned in goal #1, I have a lot of Tomes sitting on my shelves.  I’m interested in them and I would really like to focus on picking a few of them up in 2017.
  5. My Goodreads Goal this year will be to read 45 books.

Sweeter Reads Goals

I am a member of a Goodreads Group called Sweeter Reads.  Every year, we read books of the month and have yearly challenges.  Here are my goals for 2017 in Sweeter Reads Bookclub.

  1. Atleast 1 Book of the Month.  Each month we vote on a list of books and the top 3 books plus a book from the member of the month make up our group books of the month.  I plan to choose at least one of these books to read every month.
  2. One of my favorite activities that we do is our quarterly Recommendation Swap.  Members sign up and are paired with another member to swap a book recommendation (or two…or three…) and then you have 3 months to read the recommended book.
  3. TBR Jar Challenge  I plan to read at least 1 book from my TBR jar each month. 5B7AA1BD-3CD8-4498-8EAF-C6535571992E.JPG

Here’s my 2017 TBR Jar that my lovely husband bought for me.  I can’t wait to see what book I pull out for January!

4. Oh the Places You’ll Go Alphabet Location Challenge I will be hosting this challenge for the group this year.  It’s a challenge where you track the places you go through books, fantasy or realistic places, and try to find one for each letter in the alphabet.

5.Popsugar Challenge I loosely challenge myself with this challenge.  I choose the books I want to read and see how many I can work into this challenge throughout the year.

This challenge is created by Popsugar.

Here’s the challenge if you are interested in joining in…

2017 Popsugar Reading Challenge

1. Recommended by a Librarian:
2. Been on Your TBR List Way Too Long:
3. Book of Letters:
4. Audiobook:
5. Book by a Person of Color:
6.One of the Four Seasons in the Title:
7. Book That is a Story Within a Story:
8. Book With Multiple Authors:
9. Espionage Thriller:
10. Cat on the Cover:
11. By an Author Who Uses a Pseudonym:
12. Bestseller From a Genre You Don’t Normally Read:
13. By or About a Person Who Has a Disability:
14. Book Involving Travel:
15. Book With A Subtitle:
16. Published in 2017:
17. Book Involving a Mythical Creature:
18. Book You’ve Read Before That Never Fails to Make You Smile:
19. Book About Food:
20. Book With Career Advice:
21. Book From a Nonhuman Perspective:
22. Steampunk Novel:
23. Book With a Red Spine:
24. Book Set in the Wilderness:
25. Book You Loved as a Child:
26. By an Author From a Country You’ve Never Visited:
27. Title That’s a Character’s Name:
28. Novel Set During Wartime:
29. Book With an Unreliable Narrator:
30. Book With Pictures:
31. Book with Main Character Who is a Different Ethnicity From You:
32. Book About an Interesting Woman:
33. Book Set in Two Different Time Periods:
34. Month or Day of the Week in the Title:
35. Set in a Hotel:
36. Written By Someone You Admire:
37. Book Becoming a Movie in 2017:
38. Book Set Around a Holiday Other Than Christmas:
39. 1st Book in a Series You Haven’t Read Before:
40. A Book You Bought on a Trip:

ADVANCED

41. Book Recommended by an Author You Love:
42. Bestseller From 2016:
43. Family Member Term in the Title:
44. Takes Place Over a Character’s Life Span:
45. About an Immigrant or Refugee:
46. From a Genre/Subgenre You’ve Never Heard of:
47. Book With an Eccentric Character:
48. Book That’s More Than 800 Pages:
49. Book Yo Got From a Used Book Sale:
50. Book That’s Mentioned in Another Book:
51. Book About a Difficult Topic:
52. Book Based on Mythology:

6. Around the Year in 52 Books Challenge Again, for this challenge I will just see how many books I read fit into the challenge.  For me, it’s really not about completing the challenge each year.
This challenge is created by the Goodreads Group Around the Year in 52 books.
Here’s the challenge if you are interested in joining in…

Around the Year in 52 Books 2017

The 2017 List
1. A book from the Goodreads Choice Awards 2016 (link)
2. A book with at least 2 perspectives (multiple points of view)
3. A book you meant to read in 2016
4. A title that doesn’t contain the letter “E”
5. A historical fiction
6. A book being released as a movie in 2017
7. A book with an animal on the cover or in the title
8. A book written by a person of color
9. A book in the middle of your To Be Read list
10. A dual-timeline novel
11. A category from another challenge
12. A book based on a myth
13. A book recommended by one of your favorite authors
14. A book with a strong female character
15. A book written or set in Scandinavia (Norway, Sweden, Finland, Denmark, Iceland)
16. A mystery
17. A book with illustrations
18. A really long book (600+ pages)
19. A New York Times best-seller
20. A book that you’ve owned for a while but haven’t gotten around to reading
21. A book that is a continuation of a book you’ve already read
22. A book by an author you haven’t read before
23. A book from the BBC “The Big Read” list (link)
24. A book written by at least two authors
25. A book about a famous historical figure
26. An adventure book
27. A book by one of your favorite authors
28. A non-fiction
29. A book published outside the 4 major publishing houses (Simon & Schuster; HarperCollins; Penguin Random House; Hachette Livre) – check all the editions
30. A book from Goodreads Top 100 YA Books (link)
31. A book from a sub-genre of your favorite genre
32. A book with a long title (5+ words, excluding subtitle)
33. A magical realism novel
34. A book set in or by an author from the Southern Hemisphere
35. A book where one of the main characters is royalty
36. A Hugo Award winner or nominee (link)
37. A book you choose randomly
38. A novel inspired by a work of classic literature
39. An epistolary fiction
40. A book published in 2017
41. A book with an unreliable narrator
42. A best book of the 21st century (so far)
43. A book with a chilling atmosphere (scary, unsettling, cold)
44. A recommendation from “What Should I Read Next” (link)
45. A book with a one-word title
46. A time travel novel
47. A past suggestion that didn’t win (link)
48. A banned book
49. A book from someone else’s bookshelf
50. A Penguin Modern Classic – any edition
51. A collection (e.g. essays, short stories, poetry, plays)
52. A book set in a fictional location

What are your reading goals for 2017?  I’d love to know!  Feel free to post a link to your reading goals blog posts.  
10 thoughts on “Bookish Goals for 2017

  1. I like your goals. I, too, have some rather large books I’ve been putting off reading in an effort to write my blog every day but I really do want to read them. I did one re-read this year and really enjoyed it, noticing new tidbits and remembering some I had forgotten. I hope you’re able to meet most if not all of them. Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Musing Mondays (Jan. 2) – In My Reading Nook

  3. Pingback: Two More Reading Challenges 2017 – In My Reading Nook

Leave a Reply

