Review: Dark Matter by Blake Crouch

Dark MatterDark Matter by Blake Crouch
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

“Standing happy and slightly drunk in my kitchen, I’m unaware that tonight is the end of all this. The end of everything I know, everything I love.

No one tells you it’s all about to change, to be taken away. There’s no proximity alert, no indication that you’re standing on the precipice. And maybe that’s what makes tragedy so tragic. Not just what happens, but how it happens: a sucker punch that comes at you out of nowhere, when you’re least expecting it. No time to flinch or brace.”

– pg 1 “Dark Matter” by Blake Crouch

What if you were abducted and you wake up to find everything you know about your life suddenly no longer exsists? no wife? no child? no longer a science professor at the local college? That’s what happens to Jason Dessen in Dark Matter by Blake Crouch. That is all the reader needs to know before going into this amazing thriller! It is best to go into Dark Matter as blind as possible and let Crouch take you on an incredible mind blowing ride.

There is some science to this story in a few small places. Some of that did go over my head, but I was easily able to grasp enough of it to understand all that was needed. It is such a small part of the book that I wouldn’t let that deter you from picking up this amazing book!

I loved the writing style and pacing of this book. Blake Crouch tells most of the story in very short paragraphs, most are only one sentence long. Surprisingly, for this story it works very well and keeps the reader reading at a very thrilling pace.

I really enjoyed the underlying themes in this book. I loved the exploration of family versuses career. I think that it’s something many of us think about and at times struggle to find balance in. I liked where Blake Crouch takes Jason and Daniela regarding family versuses career.

I also loved how Blake Crouch writes Jason and Daniela’s relationship. I love the underlying themes of love, loyalty and family that are explored through the characters of Jason and Daniela within the pages of Dark Matter. Is the grass always greener on the other side? Crouch explores this in a very interesting way throughout this book.

Although Dark Matter by Blake Crouch is most definitely an amazing, mind bending, action packed thriller, Crouch also explores love, life, family and career in this book. I throughly enjoyed not just the thriller aspects of this book, but how Blake Crouch masterfully weaves so much exploration of family throughout the book too. I highly recommend this book! It will take you on such a wild ride! By the time you are done, it will have challenged you to think about what is most important in life and how far you are willing to go to protect it.

4 thoughts on “Review: Dark Matter by Blake Crouch

Leave a Reply

