Two More Reading Challenges 2017

I already blogged about my Bookish Goals for 2017 and I talked about the challenges I will be participating in this year.  Well…since that post, I came across two more reading challenges that go right along with my reading goals for this year.  So, I’ve decided to join into these challenges as well.

  1. 2017 Mount TBR Challenge

This chllenge is being hosted by Bev at My Reader’s Block.  The basic premice of this challenge is to read books that you already own, books bought in 2016 or earlier.  I have so many books that I have already purchased and I’d really like to get them read in 2017.  This challenge is the perfect way to motivate me to pick up those books that I’m really looking forward to reading, but I just haven’t read yet.

Here are the levels for this challenge:

Pike’s Peak: Read 12 books from your TBR pile/s
Mount Blanc: Read 24 books from your TBR pile/s
Mt. Vancouver: Read 36 books from your TBR pile/s
Mt. Ararat: Read 48 books from your TBR piles/s
Mt. Kilimanjaro: Read 60 books from your TBR pile/s
El Toro: Read 75 books from your TBR pile/s
Mt. Everest: Read 100 books from your TBR pile/s
Mount Olympus (Mars): Read 150+ books from your TBR pile/s

I think I will go for Mount Blanc and read at least 24 books from my TBR pile in 2017.  I can always raise my goal later in the year if needed.

    2. Pages Read 2017

This challenge is being hosted by Book Dragon’s Lair.  In this challenge you track the total pages read, not the number of books read.  In 2017, I’d like to read some of the big books sitting on my shelves so this challenge is perfect!

Here are the levels for this challenge:

Bonsai – Read 12,000 pages
Shrub – Read 24,000 pages
Dwarf Peach – Read 36,000 pages
Apple Tree – Read  48,000 pages
Oak – Read 60,000 pages
Douglas Fir – Read 72,000 pages
Sequoia – Read 84,000 pages
Redwood – Read 84,001+ pages
For this challenge, I will be going for Bonsai.  I am a bit of a slower reader so I don’t want to pressure myself.  My biggest and most important reading goal for 2017 is just to enjoy what I’m reading.  If I find that I’m reading more pages, I can always raise my level later in the year.
 
Leave a Reply

