Review: Caraval by Stephanie Garber

Caraval (Caraval, #1)Caraval by Stephanie Garber
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Caraval by Stephanie Garber was absolutely fantastic! The characters were amazing, the plot was throughly engaging and if the story as a whole wasn’t enough to pick up book 2, the cliffhanger at the end made it an absolute must. I can’t wait for the release of book 2 in this series!

Caraval took me through such a wide range of emotions, from the edge of my seat excitement and anticipation to heartbreak to joy. Whenever magic is involved, you never know what could be around the next corner. Garber does a wonderful job of weaving in lots of unexpected twists and turns. As a reader, a few times, I thought I had solved something within the story, only to find out how wrong I was.

I’ve heard this book compared to The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. I loved The Night Circus and that’s why I was so excited to read this book. However, after reading both books, I really don’t understand the comparison. Yes, they both take place in a magical circus like atmosphere, but other then that, they are very different stories. I guess there’s an argument for both books involving a competition , but in my opinion, that would be a very loose comparison of the word competition. The “competition” aspect is just so drastically different between the two books. If you are not a fan of The Night Circus and Caraval intrigues you at all, I would suggest giving Caraval a try. I’ve heard many reviews where readers of The Night Circus didn’t like that the book kept the reader feeling like they were on the outside looking in on it’s characters. Caraval is the complete opposite of this. I was completly engrossed and invested in the characters of Caraval. Caraval puts the reader right in the middle of the caraval, all of it’s magic, action and surprises. I felt completely connected and invested in the lives of the characters of Caraval.

I also throughly enjoyed the sibling bonds in this book. Sibling relationships are put to huge tests and the lengths that siblings are willing to go for each other in this story just warmed my heart.

Caraval by Stephanie Garber was such an amazing book! I throughly enjoyed each and every turn of the page.

One thought on “Review: Caraval by Stephanie Garber

  1. Pingback: February Wrap Up – In My Reading Nook

Leave a Reply

