2017 Love-a-thon Challenge: Mix + Match

2017-love-a-thon-graphic

Love-a-thon 2017 will be taking place from February 18, 2017 -February 20, 2017.  This will be my first year participating in the Love-a-thon and I’m so excited!  🙂 ❤  The purpose of the Love-a-thon is to bring the online book community together, meet new booklovers across all social media platforms and to spread love to those online booklovers we have already met along the way.  This years hosts of the Love-a-thon are Alexa of Alexa Loves Books, Cece of The Novel Hermit, Kristin of Super Space Chick and Mel of The Daily Prophecy.

The purpose of this challenge is to mash-up our non-bookish life (hobbies/passions/talents/fandom) with our bookish life.

img_8960

My two favorite hobbies besides reading are crochet and adult coloring. Similar to reading a good book, I find both of these hobbies relaxing and an escape from the routines of daily life. Unlike reading, adult coloring and crochet can be done while watching TV, a movie, Netflix, Hulu, etc.  I have combined my love of adult coloring with books by recently purchasing an Anne of Green Gables and a Beauty and the Beast coloring book/storybook.  My love of crochet comes in handy to make lots of blankets to use when curling up with a good book on cold, winter nights.

15 thoughts on “2017 Love-a-thon Challenge: Mix + Match

  1. I plan on buying a few adult coloring books soon, I wonder is it safe to use markers on those as well? It seems really relaxing. They have adult coloring classes at my local library, I’m going to have to sign up for one! Happy reading, coloring and blogging!! #LoveAThon

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is safe to use markers in your books if the images are printed on one side of the page and you put a few pieces of paper or cardboard etc in between the pages. Markers sometimes bleed through depending on type of marker and thickness of paper. Testing is always best. How cool that your library has coloring classes! Sounds fun! There’s also a lot of coloring tutorials on YouTube. I’m not great at coloring, trying to learn. It is relaxing though no matter how the pages come out. Happy reading, coloring and blogging to you too. 🙂 #loveathon

      Like

    1. Thank you so much! I just found (and followed) your Instagram and Twitter feed. You have some beautiful pictures on Instagram. 🙂 I found the coloring books on Book Outlet. I’m not sure if they still have them or not, but they were only about $5 there so you might want to check Book Outlet.

      Like

    1. As far as colored pencils, I have some Prismacolor Scholar (student version) right now, but I’m hoping to get some regular Prismacolors or Faber Castle Polychromos for my birthday next month. I recently learned from YouTube that you can use the white pencil to help blend, if you don’t have a blending pencil. I tried it this weekend and it does work. But, I’m definitely an amateur at this. As far as markers, I have Tombows, Spectrum Noir and Staedtler (super fine and great for detail). While you can color with anything, I’ve found that vibrancy is better with higher end brands and the color payoff is a lot better. Shading and light source is still a work in progress for me, it doesn’t come naturally for me. 🙂 But, I just enjoy the process of coloring and the relaxation it brings.

      Like

    1. Hahaha…yes, I think a yarn addiction comes with learning to crochet or knit. 🙂 I loved to color as a kid as well. There’s so many great adult coloring books out there now with such a wide range of pictures, maybe watch some YouTube flip through videos and find a coloring book that peeks your interest?

      Like

  2. Pingback: Musing Mondays (Feb. 20) – In My Reading Nook

  3. Pingback: February Wrap Up – In My Reading Nook

Leave a Reply

