Musing Mondays (April 24)

Musing Mondays is hosted by Ambrosia at her blog, The Purple Booker.

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme that asks you to choose one of the following prompts to answer:

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: When someone in your life passes do you pick up a book they liked or one that reminds you of them to read?

April has been a really rough reading month for me.  Although I have been reading, it’s been slow and I haven’t been able to read for longer periods of time.  I just haven’t been in the mood to read as much.  I am slowly getting back to a regular reading pace and hoping this slump doesn’t follow me into May.

I’m currently reading…

Last night was the spring edition of Lauren from Lauren and the Books Cozy Reading Night.  #cozyreadingnight  It’s a 3 hour read-a-thon from 7-10pm where the idea is to just get cozy and read.  Grab a comfy blanket, put on some comfy pjs, grab your favorite snack, light a candle, play some relaxing music…whatever makes a cozy atmosphere for you and read!  I participated in the last cozy reading night in February and had so much fun.  So, I decided to join in to this one and hope it would help me get out of this reading slump.  Over the 3 hours last night, I continued reading a book and started 2 more books.  I even picked up one of the three books again last night before bed and this morning.  Could cozy reading night have ended this dreaded reading slump for me????  I hope so!  We’ll see…

  

The Seven Sisters by Lucinda Riley: Goodreads 

Anne of Avonlea by L.M. Montgomery: Goodreads 

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas: Goodreads 

I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…

Kristin Hannah is one of my favorite authors and a definite auto-buy for me.  So, I’m so excited for this February 6, 2018 and the release of Kristin Hannah’s newest book!

Goodreads

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: When someone in your life passes do you pick up a book they liked or one that reminds you of them to read?

This past November my sister passed away very unexpectedly and tragically, at only 37.  She was a reader from time to time and had recommended A Man Called Ove  by Fredrik Backman to me.  I already had it on my shelf and figured I’d get to it at some point.  After my sister passed, when I was able to pick up a book, A Man Called Ove was the first book I read.  I loved the book!  However, even if I didn’t love the book, it would always have a special place in my heart and on my shelves as a memory of my sister.  My sister and I were very different people and my sister had a lot of personal struggles in life.  I think this was a great way for me to feel connected to her and have a special memory to share with her.

Although, I have had other loved ones pass away, I think this was the first time a book reminded me of a loved one who had passed away.  It was the first time I grabbed a book to help me heal from the loss.  It’s amazing how much books connect us, both in the good times and the bad.  ❤

Feel free to post your Musing Monday link.  I’d love to read what you’re musing about this Monday

Follow Me:

4 thoughts on “Musing Mondays (April 24)

  1. I love the idea of memorializing a loved one after their passing. The same goes for favorite authors who pass. I’ve been reading a lot more of Carrie Fisher’s books since her passing.

    Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  2. I’m so sorry to hear about your sister, but I think it’s amazing that a book made you feel connected to her. That book will always mean more to you than just a book, and that’s awesome. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

  3. I hope you come out of your reading slump soon!

    I didn’t realize Kristin Hannah had a new book coming out! Wooho!

    It sounds like A Man Called Ove will always hold a special place in your heart. You should check out “The One-in-a-Million Boy” by Monica Wood, I think you may enjoy it 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment