Musing Mondays (Jan. 9)

Musing Mondays is now being hosted by Ambrosia at her blog, The Purple Booker.

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme that asks you to choose one of the following prompts to answer:

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: What do you think about books being made into movies or tv shows and do you always read the book first?

I’m currently reading…

Goodreads

This book was selected for me for a Recomendation Swap.  I’m only a few pages in, but I’m hoping to get a lot more of it read over the next few days.  My bookclub has a read-a-thon going on today through Wednesday so I’m hoping to get a lot of this book read (or maybe finish the book) during this read-a-thon.

Up next I think I’ll read…

Goodreads

This is the first book I pulled out of my TBR Jar for 2017.  I’ve never read Matilda before.  I’m looking forward to this quick, fun little read next. 🙂

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: What do you think about books being made into movies or tv shows and do you always read the book first?

I think I probably have a very typical bookish answer for this week’s random question.  Yes!  I always read the book first!  Although, the book is almost always better then the TV or movie adaptation, I still enjoy TV and movie adaptations of books.  Two of my favorite movie adaptations that I can think of right off the top of my head are the Harry Potter movies and The Book Thief.  They are great movies that I enjoyed watching, however they do leave a lot of what’s in the book out.  It’s impossible to include everything from a book to a TV or movie adaptation, there’s just not enough time or some things just don’t translate well.  Movie and TV adaptations are great and sometimes enjoyable, but reading the books along with watching gives the best experience!

How do you feel about TV or movie adaptations of books?

Feel free to post your Musing Monday link.  I’d love to read what you’re musing about this Monday

5 thoughts on “Musing Mondays (Jan. 9)

  1. I’ve never heard of Tell the Wolves I’m Home before but based on the summary from Goodreads I think this is exactly the book I need to read so I think you and fate for sharing it with me at exactly the right time. Now I just need to get my hands on a copy.

    You and I have similar thoughts about adaptations and even have one of the same favourites 🙂 http://twobirds1blog.blogspot.ca/2017/01/musing-mondays-what-im-reading-book-to.html

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

